Medical stuff update

Published on by Sonia

Medical stuff update

You might know that I’ve been a little over-excited (understatement!) about being a participant in a clinical trial. Moreover, it was the only thing I truly believed could help me - just help, not “fix” me. I’m a realist, just putting the brakes on would be wonderful J

The idea of HSCT* was always a bit risky and I knew I couldn’t afford it, it cost was about £30K in Russia, and yes, I casually looked into it. Then the girl appeared on TV recently talking about her miracle cure - well now we’d be looking at a 3 year waiting list for Russia.

The STREAMS trial is about using your mesenchymal stemcells - they take them out, grow them and put them back - I think you can imagine why I felt fortune was smiling on me…… but even after everything**, my stemcalls just didn’t grow L

However, the medical world has gone a bit mad on MS recently. Finally, there is a possible treatment for PPMS and there’s also work going on trialling existing meds for MS use. And, I still have DMDs to look forward to so it’s not all bad. Two of my options involved hospital trips and as if by magic the other option is a twice daily tablet (absolutely no needles involved!) not as effective at stopping relapse frequency but good first choice.

OK, I think I’ve filled you in of the main bits of the story. I sort of knew the trial wasn’t working at about the 3 weeks mark, when I’d heard nothing. I even made a joke in the email I sent to the doctor at about 5 weeks - because if anything like my hair growth, there should have been enough for at least one and a half people by then.

Onward’s and upwards!

*For non MS’ers, HSCT is Hematopoietic stem cell transplantation, they reset/restart your immune system using high doses of Chemo – consequently being exposed to pretty much anything germ could kill you and it just doesn’t work for everyone.

**Everything: there was a twenty-odd page document to read and sign. I had 3 appointments, the first meeting just to discuss and carry out a basic physical. The second was 3 hour consultation and physical and the third was a day long – physical, lumbar puncture and harvest. I also agreed to at least monthly appointments over the coming year, including another 2 lumbar punctures (yes, they gave me drugs but not before I agreed to have the lumbar punctures, it was all 100% above board).

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post
H
Superior quality post work cleaning services won't be able to only sparkling the building the spot that the work was first done, but is likewise able and hence avoiding the fact that additional laborers, limit interruptions, and perform several other day-to-day housecleaning tasks. Just for optimal consequences, business users should do not forget to hire a fabulous commercial putting together cleaning company that comes with quality evidences and options.
Reply
J
Sorry it didn't work. Hopefully you will find something else. <br /> I am currently taking Tecfideria, much better than previous DMD which was injectable.
Reply
S
Thank you :) Yes, I'm hoping to start Tecfidera as soon as possible - when I was diagnosed 2yrs ago I remember deciding to go for muscular jabs as they weren't as frequent and then they said PPMS so it all went flat. So, I'll be the idiot grinning from ear to ear when I flush bright red :) x